Last Night’s Dinner: Roasted Chickpeas and Cherry Tomatoes

One of my favorite uses of Google?  Recipe searches.  Weeknight dinners – especially when I’m only cooking for myself – tend to be experimental combinations of fresh veggies and pantry staples.  I usually don’t follow actual recipes during the week; I tend to be drawn to the most complicated, ambitious, and time-consuming recipes, so that is often saved for weekends.  Still, there are few (culinary) things that annoy me more than when I decide to throw a couple things in the oven together only to discover that one cooks way faster than the other.  So sometimes I scan a couple recipes to make sure I’m not setting myself for failure by preheating the oven 100 degrees too high or too low.  So tonight when I had an idea of wanting to use some cherry tomatoes and a can of chickpeas, Google told me that lots of other people have had this idea, too, and that roasting around 400 degrees for about 20 minutes works well.  Beyond that, I made this up myself….

I tossed a can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed, preferably low sodium) in a roasting pan with cherry tomatoes, 5 or 6 whole cloves of garlic, and olive oil and sprinkled with smoked paprika, coriander, salt and pepper. 

After roasting, I mixed in some fresh chopped parsley (would have preferred cilantro but didn’t have any).

Accompaniments? Baked polenta– Trader Joe’s tubed polenta, sliced and drizzled with olive oil, baked on a sheet right next to the pan of chickpeas and tomatoes.  Sautéed spinach with lemon.

It turned out pretty well. I like my chickpeas a little crispy on the outside, but not totally crunchy.  So the baking time can be adjusted to your liking.  And I really do wish I’d had cilantro instead of parsley.  Otherwise, it was quite satisfying!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Last Night's Dinner

Leave a Reply

