Last Night’s Dinner: Quinoa with Vegetables and Turkey Kielbasa

Inspiration for this meal:  Wanting something with a lot of vegetables, but not a variation of my reliable pasta with green veggies, lemon, and goat cheese formula.  And I also had a random craving for turkey kielbasa.  (Please, no sausage jokes- my mom reads this.  Although she’d probably be the first to jump on the opportunity for some meat-products-as-a-metaphor-for-male-genitalia humor.)

So what veggies were involved?  Spinach, zucchini, asparagus, and garlic scapes.  What are garlic scapes?  That’s exactly what I asked my sister when she handed me these long, grass-green rope-looking things.  It’s basically the shoot that grows out of a garlic bulb.  Here’s a nice explanation: My Friend the Garlic Scape.

I sauteed diced turkey kielbasa, diced zucchini, and chopped garlic scapes in a skillet with oil.  What kind of oil?  Well, I used safflower.  Why?  There’s really no particular reason… I happen to have some because I purchased it for a specific recipe and I figure it needs to be used at some point.  I’ve read things about it having some health benefits, but couldn’t find any good sources to really support that (not that I did a lot of research into it).  But I honestly would probably use olive oil next time- I just like it better.

I sauteed the kielbasa, zucchini and garlic scapes until the kielbasa was slightly browned.  Then I added chopped asparagus and some chopped cherry tomatoes and sauteed for a few more minutes.  Finally I threw in several handfuls of baby spinach and stirred until the spinach was wilted.  Added juice from 1/2 of a lemon and some salt and pepper.

Served over quinoa.  One suggestion based on my mistake- start the quinoa first.  I was eager to start sauteing vegetables and consequently they had to sit in the skillet while I waited for the quinoa to finish.  So the zucchini and the asparagus were a little more cooked that I like.  Still, delicious and easy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Last Night's Dinner

Leave a Reply

