Pre-Wedding Musings

I wrote this last Thursday.  Things got a bit hectic and I didn’t get a chance to post, but I wanted to leave it “as is” in my pre-wedding state of mind (not that much has changed since then!)

We’re just a few days away from the wedding now and I can’t say I’ve been doing much cooking that is worth sharing.  Actually, other than baking more than 150 sugar cookies for wedding favors, the most involvement I’ve had in the kitchen was cooking rice and heating up a bag of frozen PF Chang’s chicken and broccoli.  (Which, by the way, was only in my freezer because there was a “Buy this crap and get a free pint of Ben & Jerry’s” promotion.)  Instead there have been cookouts with friends, fancy lunches in celebration of marriage licenses (well, one fancy lunch), and dinners like this:

Yes, that’s tuna salad.  And two kinds of crackers.  But look at that presentation.  And it really is good tuna.  Maybe I’ll see if Nick is willing to share his recipe one of these days.  It’s quite possibly the best tuna I’ve ever eaten.

Speaking of Nick… have I mentioned that I am super-excited to be marrying him?  Getting caught up in all the details and logistics of wedding planning makes it easy to forget why you’re doing all of it in the first place, particularly as other family members and friends and wedding vendors get involved (although the involvement of family and friends is very much appreciated- we couldn’t be doing this without you!)  Still, when just the two of us took some time last week to get our marriage license and enjoy a lunch at one of our favorite restaurants, it was a welcome reminder that the purpose of all this craziness is to celebrate the fact that Nick and I want to be together.

Because that is exactly what it comes down to- Nick is the person I want to be with.  He’s the person I want to be next to me as we go through life together.  Just a few of the reasons why:

-He balances me in all the best ways. He helps me to be more relaxed about life and not take things so seriously.  He tells me I can do something when I feel completely discouraged. 

-He tells me I’m beautiful.

-He tells me if a dress does not look good on me.

-He laughs at me when I’m trying to be funny.

-He doesn’t laugh at me when I’m not trying to be funny.

-Running errands is instantly more fun when Nick is with me.

-He gets along with my family. I get along with his family. Our families get along with each other.

-He is wonderfully honest and that has allowed me to feel more secure than I ever have.

-If it wasn’t for Nick, I would not like asparagus.  Or the Bee Gees.

-He rubs my back when I can’t sleep… at least for about 60 seconds until he falls asleep.

-He quit smoking when I asked him to.  Actually, his first reaction was “f*** you.”  But he has now been a nonsmoker for about 18 months, and I am so proud of him. 

-He never protests when I suggest stopping to get ice cream on the way home.

-He patiently goes along with my attempts to eat more healthy meals.

-He makes up silly songs and has ridiculous conversations with our cats.

-Even though the wedding has gotten bigger than we initially planned, and it’s not exactly what he envisioned when he suggested we get married at my parents’ house, he is working so hard to get things together for a day that I know will be a great extension of ourselves and our love for each other.  It’s the same care and effort that he puts into our relationship every day, and I cannot wait to marry him.

So, that’s all for now.  Yes, the wedding was beautiful and more fun than I could have ever imagined.  I will certainly share more in a week or so, but at the moment I need to go have dinner with my husband, and pack for our honeymoon!

1 Comment

Filed under Food I Didn't Cook, Life, Love

One response to “Pre-Wedding Musings

  1. Dad

    Sarah, I really enjoyed and was moved by this.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

