A Blogging Challenge …. and a (Revised) Yoga Challenge

According to my friend Ashley, today is the beginning of National Blog Posting Month (or, NaBloPoMo, for those of you who like fancy acronyms…. Is it still an acronym if it’s shortened words, rather than one letter from each word?)  Ashley and I were not close friends in high school, but I remember her being pretty hilarious.  And thanks to the wonders of Facebook, it’s been confirmed that she is still hilarious and has excellent taste in television shows, as well as some impressive print- and magnet-making skills.  Check out her blog, Spite or Flight.  If you don’t laugh, there is something wrong with you.

Anyway, I haven’t looked into the specifics of National Blog Posting Month but I do like the idea of trying to get myself to write everyday.  I had actually considered using today as a starting point for trying to do yoga every day for a month, but that seems to have been derailed (more about that in a moment).   So, instead I’ll try writing every day.

Awkward pause….

Oh right, what’s my excuse for backing out of my daily yoga challenge?  Well, I am just about six weeks away from turning 30, and it looks like my body decided to celebrate early by giving me the gift of back pain.  I have no idea what I did this morning, but after powering through an hour  of data collection this morning (which involved sitting about 10 inches off the ground in those tiny chairs made for 4-year-olds), I retreated home to take Advil, cuddle up with an ice pack, and see if Nick would be willing to do my laundry for me.  It’s a good thing I’m able to do lots of reading and stats homework on my couch, so I can still feel productive.

Now I know there are a lot of yoga positions that probably will help my back, so I am not writing off yoga completely.  The revised challenge?  I will try to do at least some stretching and breathing exercises every day this month.  If I am able to do more than that, awesome.  If not, that’s okay.  For me, one of the biggest struggles with exercising is just making the time to do it.  By building in a chunk of time where I’m focusing on taking care of my body, I’m taking a step in the right direction.  And now I’ve told all of you that I’m doing this, so I’m stuck with it.  The fact that I’ve also just committed myself to writing every day conveniently forces me to check in.  So, we’ll see how this goes!

2 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Writing

2 responses to “A Blogging Challenge …. and a (Revised) Yoga Challenge

  1. Pingback: Random Moments of Happiness: Day 0 | Anything But Academia

Leave a Reply

