Pomegranate and Grapefruit Salad

It’s only November and I am already missing summer food.   I was going through a July issue of a magazine and lustfully eying the photos of heirloom tomatoes.  My basil plant is officially dead.  I’ve accepted that I will be eating frozen berries for the next five months, as I refuse to pay $7 for a container of strawberries.

The good news is that we’re entering grapefruit and pomegranate season!  Pomegranates have to be the sexiest of the fruits.  That deep, ruby-red color, the plump, juicy seeds that burst in your mouth…

Well, hello there….

Um, anyway…. Last year I happily discovered the joy of a bowl of grapefruit and pomegranate seeds.  They both have their own unique and delightful burst of juiciness, and the sweetness of the pomegranate is far superior to sprinkling sugar on a grapefruit half (not to mention the stunning color combo).

One out of two cats prefer pomegranate over grapefruit.

I also found that they work well on a salad.  If you happen to have an avocado around, chop it up and throw it in, too.  I wished I had one today when I was eating this for lunch.  I did add some sliced radishes, which contributed some crunch and a nice peppery flavor.

You could make a vinaigrette, but why not just use the grapefruit juice instead of vinegar?  You can use a little olive oil too, but I stuck with just the citrus juice today, and it worked quite fine.

I used baby lettuce, since that’s what I had around, but a mix of baby spinach and mache would be my first choice.

Is it just me, or does this look rather Christmas-y?

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking

One response to “Pomegranate and Grapefruit Salad

  1. Every food post is making me salivate…looks like you have planned my meals for me for a while!

Leave a Reply

