Last Night’s Leftovers: Whole Wheat Penne with Sweet Potatoes and Greens

Nick was working late last night, so I was on my own for dinner.  Staring into the fridge, I thought, “Well, I have Swiss chard that is already looking a little past its prime and leftover roasted sweet potatoes….  Those both sound like things that would go well with pasta.”

I really didn’t anticipate this being something I’d actually write about, but it was yummy and pretty enough that I had to grab my camera after I had already taken a bite.

Saute some sliced shallots and chopped green olives in melted butter and olive oil with some crushed red pepper flakes.  Stir in sliced Swiss chard.  After a couple minutes add in some roasted sweet potatoes and baby spinach.  Squeeze a little lemon juice over it, and stir until spinach wilts.  Add in some cooked whole wheat pasta and maybe a little more butter if you’re feeling indulgent.  I mean, you are eating a bunch of veggies, a little butter won’t hurt….

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Last Night's Dinner

Leave a Reply

