“It’s like cake suspended in ice cream….”

I don’t know what made me decide to stop at 7-11 on my way home to buy ice cream last night – the same night I found myself shivering and needing to use the heat in my car for the first time this season.  Actually, that’s not true.  I know exactly what made me decide to stop at 7-11 to buy ice cream last night.

I had gone out to dinner at an Italian place with a whole bunch of my fabulous fellow grad students and at one point commented out loud that I wondered if they had tiramisu.  My friend Katie then mentioned that she’d recently tried Ben & Jerry’s tiramisu ice cream.  (By the way, this is not the same Katie I have previously mentioned as being the easiest person to feed, although this Katie and I also have a lot of conversations about food.)

So I was driving back from DC to Baltimore last night and thinking about this ice cream.  And that as happy as Nick would be to see me when I got home, he would probably be even happier to see me holding some pints of ice cream.

The problem?  7-11 did not have the tiramisu ice cream.  (After doing some research today, I figured out that’s because Ben & Jerry’s decided to copy Missoni and sell the “Volun-Tiramisu” flavor exclusively at Target.)  Thus I ended up with an old standby and a new one.

I absolutely hate the word “hubby.”  Nick is my husband, my love, and my lots of other words I only say to him in private, but I will never refer to him as my hubby.  That being said, I love Chubby Hubby.  I mean, yeah, peanut butter and chocolate are amazing together.  And chocolate-covered pretzels?  Pretty awesome in their own special way.  The three of them together?  The only threesome I will ever endorse.

I also decided to try Red Velvet Cake.  Nick tasted it first.  He had a spoonful or two and just quietly stared into space.

“How is it?” I asked.

“It’s… like cake… suspended in ice cream.”

And it was.  Not like when you eat cake with ice cream.  If you stick a forkful of cake and ice cream in your mouth, they are still separate entities – the cake is gonna be hitting some taste buds, the ice cream will be on others.  With this Red Velvet Cake ice cream, the cake and ice cream (and cream cheese frosting) are all simultaneously everywhere in your mouth yet distinct from each other.  It’s bizarre.  And mostly good, but a little too sugary for me.  I also was envisioning the “red velvet cake ice cream” to be, well, red rather than a pale pink.  But in thinking about how much food coloring it would probably require to make the ice cream red, it’s probably a good thing that it is not.

So, Chubby Hubby* wins yet again.  But I will be going to Target to find this Volun-Tiramisu….

*Seriously, I cringe just having to type the word.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food I Didn't Cook, Guilty Pleasures

Leave a Reply

