Favorite Wedding Details, Part 2

Even more of my favorite wedding details:

The Turquoise Door

A couple years ago when my parents replaced their front door, they put their old one on a wheeled platform and converted it into a mobile room divider.   Shortly after we decided to have the wedding at their house, I commented to my parents that I thought the door would make a cool backdrop for the wedding ceremony.  I don’t think they took me seriously at first.  But Mom was willing to let me paint it turquoise, and it turned out really well.  There was something almost surreal about this bright blue door standing by itself towards the woods behind my parents’ house.  And it made for some great photos.

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

All the Decor Mom Worked On

The chain of hibiscuses draped over the door?  Silk flowers that Mom decapitated and glued together.  She also did all of the flower arrangements with combinations of fresh and silk flowers, as well as making my bouquet and Nick’s boutonniere.  Not to mention being the one with an amazing vision for the home and yard renovations they’ve done over the years, which made the house such a great place for a wedding.  Oh, and she and my Aunt Lois took the time to tie raffia around seventy turquoise napkins.

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

The Food

Shortly after Nick and I had started planning an eclectic menu of hors d’oeuvres, there was a night that I made grilled chicken tostadas for dinner, and Nick pointed out that fresh, grilled Mexican food would work perfectly for an outdoor summer wedding.  Before long, we had dubbed the menu “Taco Island.”

I cannot say enough about the amount of hard work that Steph and Morris put into food preparation for the wedding.  Nick also spent a lot of time helping in the kitchen.  My contributions?  Empanadas (made a couple weeks in advance) and creamy cilantro lime coleslaw.  The empanadas were improvised and I can honestly say that I don’t really remember how we made them, other than it involved a ton of slow-cooked pork and several hours of assembly.  But you can find the coleslaw recipe here.

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

Courtesy of Stevie T Photography

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Family, Food I Didn't Cook, Love

2 responses to “Favorite Wedding Details, Part 2

  1. Pingback: The Oceanfront Taco Party | Anything But Academia

  2. Pingback: Last Night’s Dinner: Pickled Shrimp and Roasted Asparagus with Herbed Aioli | Anything But Academia

Leave a Reply

