An Assortment of Christmas-Related Thoughts

Various things that I want to share yet lack sufficient elaboration to make them worthy of their very own blog entry:

  • I’ve had a crush on Zooey Deschanel for quite some time.  Until last week, that is.  Bon Appetit interviewed her in their December issue and asked her for tips for making Christmas cookies.  Her response: “Don’t make cookies.  Classic Christmas cookies are really time-consuming.  Instead, make a bar you can bake in a pan and just cut up….”  Seriously?  Why don’t you just buy a can of Pillsbury dough?  Or if you’re really pressed for time, heck, just give a can of dough to friends and let them bake their own cookies!  Considering that my favorite Christmas cookies require 90 minutes or more of active prep time, clearly we have different philosophies on this.  Zooey also lost points for indicating that she doesn’t like tequila.  So much for my dream of drinking margaritas and baking seven layer cookies with Zooey Deschanel.  (Not that I really had previously wanted to do that… reading this just made it clear that it will never happen.)  In other news, my crush on Andrew Knowlton (aka the BA Foodist) is still very much intact.
  • I am very excited about setting up our Christmas tree this year.  But I am terrified to think about how Matilda is going to behave, considering that Nick found her in a tree.  Something tells me someone is only going to be allowed into the living room when supervised for a couple weeks….
  • Going back to Bon Appetit, I hate that every December issue seems to have a cover with a dessert containing mint.  Have I not mentioned the mint thing before?  I just realized I’ve been writing this blog for almost six months, and I don’t know if this has come up yet.  Yes, I hate mint.  I couldn’t use normal people toothpaste (as in something other than Sesame Street or Muppets fruity-flavored toothpastes) until I was in high school.  I can tolerate toothpaste now, but I refuse to eat anything with mint in it and I’m not crazy about the smell either.  Phew.  So glad I got that off my chest.  Now you know.  People always seem to think this is a weird thing.  But I wouldn’t judge you for hating broccoli, would I?  (I probably would, come to think of it.)
  • I really, really wish they still aired the Claymation Christmas special on television.  It’s the best Christmas special ever.  Does Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer having dinosaur hosts?  Nope, didn’t think so.  And exactly how many singing camels are in Frosty the Snowman?  Zero?  Uh huh- Claymation Christmas has three.  I do have to say that the conductor in the Carol of the Bells still scares me a bit.
Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment and Pop Culture, Life, My Crazy Mind

Leave a Reply

