Not-So-Guilty Pleasures: Parks & Recreation and Fancy Hot Chocolate

Do you ever find yourself internalizing the voice of a character from a movie or television show so that when you’re thinking to yourself it’s in a voice completely distinct from your own?  (Please say yes, because otherwise I am concerned that I might have just confessed to hearing voices.)  For example, after I was watching Coupling regularly on Netflix Instant Viewing my thoughts were voiced in a British accent for days.  (This also occurred after any of the 20 times I’ve seen Love Actually.)  Even weirder?  Thinking in the voice of Riley after Nick and I had a marathon screening of The Boondocks.   The funny thing is that I am terrible when it comes to speaking out loud in different voices.  In my head I can hear them perfectly but when they come out of my mouth, it’s no good.  Imagine Joey Tribbiani’s Southern drawl that sounded more like a Jamaican accent.   It’s kind of like how I can picture myself doing a handstand, and I can even feel it, but when I attempt it, it doesn’t work out so well.  (So far, at least….)

Anyway, the reason I bring that up is that I seem to be thinking in Chris Traeger’s voice right now.  For those of you who don’t watch Parks & Rec (although you should), Chris Traeger is Rob Lowe’s excessively optimistic character who speaks very precisely and loves to use the word “literally.”

And the reason I bring that up is so you understand where I’m coming from when I say that Dagoba Xocolatl Drinking Chocolate is “literally THE best hot chocolate I’ve ever had.”  Seriously.  And it should be, since a 12-ounce can costs about $10.  (But that is 17 servings, so it’s still way cheaper than anything you’d get at Starbucks.)  It has cinnamon and chili in it, so it’s wonderfully rich and spicy.  Almost sexy, really.  If you rated hot chocolates in terms of sexiness, this would be the Johnny Depp of hot chocolate.*  With the weather finally getting chilly and hearing “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas” on the radio for the first time this season, it felt like hot chocolate weather yesterday afternoon.

Do not even think of putting marshmallows in here.  If I find out that you bastardized this with marshmallows I will steal the rest of your can of drinking chocolate to protect it from further insult.  Kahlua or Bailey’s would be perfectly acceptable, however.  If it hadn’t been 2pm, and I wasn’t trying to work on a paper, I totally would have spiked it.

Back to Parks & Rec for a moment….  I cannot tell you how excited I am about Leslie and Ben getting back together.   I can tell you that it is way more excited than I should be about fictional characters.  One of the best lines from last week’s The Trial of Leslie Knope: when asked if she received benefits from dating her supervisor, Leslie’s response was that she received “adorable nicknames and amazing backrubs.”

*Feel free to insert whoever you want here.  The obvious universal ones that jumped out were Johnny Depp and George Clooney.  My personal favorites like Colin Firth and Alan Rickman just didn’t seem to fit….  Maybe if I was discussing tea….

4 Comments

Filed under Entertainment and Pop Culture, Food I Didn't Cook, My Crazy Mind

4 responses to “Not-So-Guilty Pleasures: Parks & Recreation and Fancy Hot Chocolate

  1. The transcript of Chris crying was one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard. “Crying noise. Crying noise.”

  2. ideosinkrasee

    I like the coffee because it’s called Dagoba. But that appeals to a small subset of people who enjoy chocolate (large) and are open about their love for Star Wars (smaller).

  3. This stuff looks amazing! My husband is a HUGE hot chocolate fan…can’t wait to make it for him. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

