Tomorrow, It Begins…

It’s January?  Of 2012?  How did that happen?  Where did December go?  What was I doing?

Oh, right. I spent the first half of the month finishing up the semester and the second half of the month compensating by doing very little other than baking, eating, watching TV and movies, and socializing with friends and family… usually while eating.

I’ve also spent the last couple weeks thinking about how to get back on track with a healthier, more balanced life and what types of resolutions might help me do so.  I was pleased with my success in following (mostly) my blog-a-day goal for November, so I’m thinking about setting similar monthly goals for this year.  All things aimed towards helping me feel happier, healthier, and more fulfilled.  Some monthly challenges might be intended to kick-start lasting habits, like daily exercise.  Others might be things that I don’t necessarily intend to maintain at the same level, but I want to challenge myself to follow through on, like the 30 blogs in 30 days thing.  I had hoped to have a list of 12 monthly goals ready to share today, but I’m not quite there yet.  Partially because I have been preparing for January’s challenge, what my sister and I have titled, “The Cleanse.”

It sounds more ominous than it is.  There are no enemas involved, I promise you. I had already been thinking about doing some sort of post-holiday detox, so when I received the January/February issue of Whole Living and read about their 28 Day Challenge, I thought this seemed like a challenging, but feasible goal.  No dairy, gluten, sugar, caffeine, or alcohol.  I guess that bottle of tequila I received for Christmas will be sitting in the cabinet for a while.  Week 1 is pretty much just fruits, veggies, and nuts.  I am anticipating the first few days might be a little rough. Week 2 adds back in beans and seafood, and Week 3 brings back (gluten-free) whole grains.

Now, for you math whizzes out there, yes, I only mentioned three weeks, which, for you non-math whizzes, does not add up to 28 days.  Emily and I agreed to do the first three weeks, not all four.  Mainly this is because the magazine only mentions 21 days; the fourth week is a “bonus” online and we didn’t even know about it when we made this pact.  I figure I’ll see how the first three weeks go, and then decide how to proceed. I think I’ll be starting back in class at Week 4, which will make it tougher to find the time to do so much food prep. But who knows- maybe by then it will seem like no big deal.

This morning I went grocery shopping, and it felt pretty awesome to have my entire cart filled with fruits and veggies (and so many colors- so pretty!)  And I still need to make another trip for the rest of my Week 1 shopping list.  (By the way, how do grocery stores run out of cucumbers??)

So, there will certainly be some Last Night’s Dinners coming up soon.  If you’re lucky, you might even get a This Morning’s Smoothie or two.  But there will be a shortage of bacon photos, to be sure.  And for those of you who are wondering- no, Nick is not doing The Cleanse with me.  There was no way I was going to ask him to give up caffeine for three weeks.  So we plan to stock up on chicken tenders and other similar things that he can add to whatever vegetable-on-vegetable-on-vegetable dinner I’ll be eating.  That’s how marriage works.

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Exercise, Life

3 responses to “Tomorrow, It Begins…

  1. The cleanse sounds really interesting! I have a few friends who have done similar cleanses in the past and been really happy with them. I’ve always wanted to try one but have never quite gotten up the motivation. Maybe I’ll try and rope a friend into doing it with me!

  2. Pingback: Another Great VBA Post « Versatile Blogger Award

  3. Pingback: A Mini-Cleanse: Three-Day Detox | Anything But Academia

Leave a Reply

