The Cleanse: Day One

Well, so far, so good. I sipped on hot water with lemon before breakfast. (This apparently helps to cleanse your liver.) I enjoyed an antioxidant smoothie with mixed berries and pomegranate juice. Apparently I enjoyed it enough that I ended up with a berry mustache, which Nick neglected to point out before he left for work. I’m choosing to blame his poor eyesight rather than assuming malicious intent.

I also did my Detox Stretches and became aware of just how long it’s been since I’ve done any yoga.  Yikes.  The good news is that I remember when I first started doing yoga and things were just as, if not more, difficult as they were this morning. And I also remember that the longer I stuck with it, the stronger and bendier I became. Yes, I know that’s pretty much common sense, but when you’re trying something for the first time (or the first time in a long time) it’s easy to wonder if it will actually get easier.

My first snack for the day took about an hour to prepare.  Fortunately it makes 5 servings, so I’m set for the rest of the week.  The Dried Fruit and Nut Bites are one of the snacks suggested by Whole Living.  They’re yummy, but they were pretty tough to assemble.  Maybe I needed to use some stickier fruits.  I did find that throwing the fruit and nut mix back into the processor and pulsing it all together helped a bit.  Other than it being time-consuming, they are easy to make. You just need 2 cups of dried fruit (I used apricots, cherries, and apples) and 2 cups of nuts (I used pecans, almonds, and walnuts).

Dried fruit is not very pretty.

Pulse the dried fruit in a food processor and transfer to bowl.

Pulse nuts in food processor, and add them to the bowl with the fruit.

Shape into one-inch balls, and then roll in sesame seeds.

So far, with the smoothie, a few of the fruit and nut bites, and the amazing Butternut Squash and Apple soup that my sister prepared for both of us, I’m feeling surprisingly full, especially considering how much I’ve been eating the last couple weeks.  On the menu for the rest of the day: Minty (Or Not, in my case) Pea Dip, and Steamed Broccoli and Squash with Tahini Dressing.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, The Cleanse

One response to “The Cleanse: Day One

  1. Pingback: Christmas Recap, Part 1: The Cookies | Anything But Academia

Leave a Reply

