The Cleanse: Day Two

Well, how is this for willpower?  The first night of the cleanse, we had friends over for drinks and snacks.  The no drinking part wasn’t too difficult, but I still sat there, grazing on cashews and grapes, watching everyone else devour slices of brie and havarti.  Oh, I might have had a couple olives…  but they’re a fruit, right? Still, I survived Day 1.

This morning got off to a rough start.  Yesterday I kept referring to the “Green Machine” smoothie as the “Green Monster” and now I’m wondering if that’s more appropriate.  The kale and lettuce mixture, sweetened with some mango and pineapple, was waaay tougher to choke down than yesterday’s berry blend.  I think I’ll stick to green veggies in solid form.

The food for the rest of the day was pretty good- Kale Slaw with Red Cabbage and Carrots for lunch and Roasted Garlic and Beet Soup for dinner.  Unfortunately I’ve been so focused on just getting the food prepared that I haven’t been thinking about taking photos.  I’ll aim for that tomorrow.

As enjoyable as the food (other than the Green Monster) has been, I do have to say that I’m feeling pretty hungry.  I know that is to be expected, and it will get better.  In the mean time I’m getting plenty of water since I’m constantly drinking it to try to fill my stomach.  That being said, I’d be lying if I said that I hadn’t lustfully eyed Nick’s chicken tenders tonight. And who knew there are SO many television commercials for food??  I’ve found myself captivated by a Subway pastrami melt, made a mental note to order pepperoni pizza in three weeks after watching a rerun of Two and a Half Men, and even had the thought that the new four-course meals at Red Lobster looked pretty good.  As a born-and-bred Maryland seafood snob, this last incident was clearly the most disturbing.

On that note, I’m heading for bed.  And if I dream about buffalo wings or ice cream, I will not be at all surprised.

1 Comment

Filed under The Cleanse

One response to “The Cleanse: Day Two

  1. Kale? Lettuce in a smoothie is bad enough, but kale? Why do you hate yourself so? You’re a good person.

Leave a Reply

