The Cleanse: Day Three

It’s official: berries in smoothies = good.  Greens in smoothies = not so good.

Today started with an Orange and Berry Smoothie straight from the Whole Living smoothie arsenal.  To make two servings, blend together: 1 cup frozen blueberries, 1 cup frozen raspberries, and 2 navel oranges, peel and pith removed, cut into chunks. I added a little splash of pomegranate juice, as it seemed like the blender wanted some more liquid to get things fully blended.

So, have you ever wanted to just eat guacamole straight out of the bowl?  No chips or anything getting in between you and the avocado-y deliciousness?  Because that’s what it felt like I was doing at lunch today.  I made the Avocado with Bell Pepper and Tomato recipe from Whole Living.  And I did a double-take when I was reading the recipe and saw that it called for an entire avocado for one serving.  I guess when you’re pretty much just eating fruits and vegetables it’s okay if you get a third of your daily fat intake from an avocado.

This is so yummy, and also appeals to my interest in asthetically pleasing meals.  So colorful!  And it really did taste like I was eating a giant plate of guacamole.  How can you go wrong with that?

Whisk together 1 teaspoon olive oil, lime juice (from one half of a lime), 1 small garlic clove, minced, and a pinch of cayenne pepper.  In a separate bowl, add six cherry tomatoes, halved and 1/2 of a yellow bell pepper, diced.  Halve an avocado and scoop out the flesh, reserve the shells.  Chop avocado and add to bowl with tomatoes and peppers. Add 1 tablespoon chopped cilantro.  Drizzle dressing on top, season with salt, and gently stir to mix.  Scoop avocado mixture back into avocado shells, and garnish with cilantro leaves.

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, The Cleanse

2 responses to “The Cleanse: Day Three

  1. It all looks very tasty and healthy. May I suggest that when you make your smoothy, put in some yogurt for the liquid. My favorite smoothy is 1 cup yogurt and some frozen fruit, strawberries, rasberries or mixed fruit.. It’s very healthy and very good.

    • Joyce, thanks for the suggestion. Yogurt (or kefir) with berries is one of my favorite breakfasts, so I’m sure I’d enjoy it in smoothie-form. Unfortunately for “The Cleanse” I am not allowed to have any dairy, but in three weeks when I bring it back into my diet, I’ll have to try it, now that I’ve dusted off my blender! I’ve read of some people throwing in a little avocado to add some creaminess sans dairy, but I’ve been content with just the fruit so far.

Leave a Reply

