This Morning’s Breakfast: Baked Sweet Potato with Citrus

Maybe it’s just because I haven’t had any real sweets in over a week, but I swear this was like eating pie for breakfast.  Sweet potato, cinnamon, almonds…. Yum!  I am not going to lie.  There was a moment when I thought, “Wow, imagine what this would be like with a little butter!”  But it is still absolutely delicious without any dairy or extra fat.   Squeezing some orange over it adds a nice tang and keeps it from being too dry.

It should be noted that this does require some planning.  There is minimal hands-on time required, but the sweet potato needs an hour to bake.  This would be a great do-ahead recipe: bake a couple and store them in the fridge for a few days, or take advantage of the wait time.  Tomorrow morning, I’ll use the hour to do yoga while I’m waiting for my breakfast!

Baked Sweet Potato with Citrus (from Whole Living)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Prick one small sweet potato with a fork.  Wrap in foil.  Bake until tender, about 1 hour.

Unwrap and split top with a knife.  Top with 1/8 cup toasted almonds, chopped (or slivered, if that’s what you have around… you could even use pecans if you want to get wild with it).  Sprinkle with a dash of cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and sea salt. Squeeze the juice from one orange slice on top.


2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, The Cleanse

2 responses to “This Morning’s Breakfast: Baked Sweet Potato with Citrus

  1. An Unidentified Relative

    Any special reason you can’t use the microwave to cook the potato? The recipe does sound delicious. Let us know if eating sweet potatoes in the morning creates any dire results later in the day!

  2. Sarah

    I like this idea! This sounds really good. I don’t eat breakfast enough, but I’d eat this. Sweet potatoes and I are great friends 🙂 I had never thought about adding the orange, but I’ll bet it’s wonderful. Looking forward to trying this.

Leave a Reply

