I miss cheese.

I know I’ve been a bit quiet this week in terms of blog activity.  It’s probably because I feel quiet.  I don’t think I typically consume enough caffeine or sugar to attribute the quietness to a shortage of caffeine or sugar, so I’m wondering if it’s just that I have a little less energy since I’m not getting as many carbohydrates right now.  It will be interesting to see how things go when I can eat grains again next week.  But I don’t feel like I’m lacking energy- I’m not dragging and I don’t feel sad.  Actually, I feel pretty happy.  As my friend suggested to me yesterday, perhaps I’ve just reached some level of zen.

So… how’s Week Two going?  Pretty well.  My disturbing, nondiscriminating attraction to any and all food commercials on television has subsided.  And that’s a good thing, because I’d be pretty sad if I was still thinking the first post-Cleanse dinner I wanted was a $15 four-course meal at Red Lobster.  But I am starting to miss pasta.  Not necessarily super-indulgent fettuccine alfredo, just pasta in general.  Like my weeknight staple of whole wheat penne with lots of veggies and a little goat cheese crumbled on top.  Oh yeah… cheese.  Man, I miss cheese.

I’m also starting to miss having the option of enjoying a glass of red wine on a Friday night at home.  Last night all I wanted was either a glass of wine or some fancy hot chocolate.  I had to convince myself that a smoothie was an acceptable alternative. But then I got distracted by the series finale of Extreme Makeover: Home Edition and the creepy dudes on 20/20 who donate their sperm for free through the internet. So, I didn’t make my “sorry, you still can’t have wine or hot chocolate” consolation prize until this afternoon.

I know I said last week’s mango-coconut water smoothie was my favorite, but that’s because I hadn’t tried this Carrot-Mango-Herb smoothie yet.  This is my new favorite.

Carrot-Mango-Herb Smoothie (serves 2; from Whole Living)

Combine 2 cups frozen mango chunks, 1 cup carrot juice, 1 cup fresh orange juice, and 1/4 cup fresh herbs (I recommend basil) in a blender.  Blend until smooth.

Whew, these smoothie recipes are so complicated!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, The Cleanse

Leave a Reply

