February’s Challenge: Week 1 (plus some)

I realized that I should check in and let you all know how the daily exercise thing is going.  Turns out this exercise challenge has been… well, more challenging than I expected.  There have been a number of days where I actually have been so busy, it’s been really tough to find thirty minutes, at least at a time I found to be convenient.  That actually made me feel better about how frequently I don’t exercise, if that makes any sense at all.  I guess I always assumed that I do have plenty of time, I’m just too lazy to use the time to exercise.  While that certainly is the case some days, there are also occasional days where my schedule is so packed that I think it is legitimate to put exercise as a lower priority.  I mean, exercise is supposed to reduce stress, right?  So if finding time to do it is causing stress and anxiety, it’s not gonna work very well.

But the truth is that in between the wonderful days with plenty of time on my hands and the days where I barely have a chance to eat, go to the bathroom, or breathe, are the majority of my days- the ones with at least a few appointments and/or things on my to-do list, but also lots of chunks of free time and flexibility to accomplish everything I need to.  And this challenge has made me very aware of all of the reasons and excuses I come up with to skip exercise on those days.  I don’t consider myself a workaholic, but I do tend to get caught up in things, and it feels like it would be really easy to rationalize spending a little more time to finish my statistics homework, even if it means dropping yoga for the day. It’s so easy to find things that seem more important, but I have to keep reminding myself that taking care of myself needs to be one of my top priorities.  The same way I make appointments at school, plan times to see friends, and schedule date nights with Nick, I need to claim time for myself and respect those commitments the same way I respect my commitments to other people.

So since the beginning of February’s Challenge (Take Two), I’ve stuck to my plan, and have spent thirty minutes every day exercising.  Oh.  Except for Day Two.  This is embarrassing.  That was two Fridays ago, and I just plain forgot about it.  Yeah, two days in, and I forget.  In my defense, that was the day I was making Nick’s birthday dinner, and I got really caught up in baking and cooking, and at the point I realized I had skipped exercising, it was too late.  So… I need to make up those thirty minutes.  But otherwise, there has been yoga, dancing, or walking every day.  The one thing that is bothering me is actually similar to when I did the daily blogging challenge in November.  When you have to do something every day, sometimes it feels forced and you kinda half-ass it.  So my mini-goal for this week is to be a bit more purposeful, mindful, and present when I’m exercising, rather than just going through the motions.  I know there are going to be some days where I’m just not feeling it, but I want to bring more effort to what I’m doing.

I suppose that’s about it for now.  One week down, three to go!

1 Comment

Filed under Exercise, Life

One response to “February’s Challenge: Week 1 (plus some)

  1. An Unidentified Relative

    I was wondering…! I assure you that the trait comes to you naturally through the gene pool. There’s always today!

Leave a Reply

