Summer Fun List: Progress Report #2

I can’t believe how quickly the last few weeks have gone by, but somehow, we’re already a week into June. It’s taking me a little longer than I hoped to get into a groove of productivity, but I’ve checked some things off my Official (aka, Important School Stuff) To Do list as well as my Fun (and Just as Important) To Do list.  Here’s an update.  Don’t worry, I’ll just share the fun stuff with you.

Eat dinner at Charleston: In progress. Nick and I finally coordinated our schedules and claimed a day to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.  As it turns out, our actual anniversary was the most convenient day.  Reservations have been made, and I am obsessively stalking Charleston’s menu.

Go on a road trip: COMPLETE.  Over Memorial Day weekend, my friend Katie and I drove down to Mooresville, North Carolina for our friends, Lindsay and Jeff’s wedding. It just happened to work out that neither Nick nor Katie’s significant other could go, so we took advantage of the opportunity to split the cost of a hotel room and have some quality friend time.  The weekend had all of the quintessential components of our friendship: hours (we’re talking as much as seven hours) of nonstop conversation, wine (not during the seven-hour drive, of course), research on obscure topics (did you know that the Great Smoky Mountains are home to one of the most diverse ecosystems in the country?), and thousands of tiny toads.

We were told that we had to get hushpuppies and milkshakes from here. The milkshakes were delicious, but it turns out I’m not a big fan of hushpuppies.

Okay, the last thing isn’t usually part of our times together, but walking with Katie through a nature trail while trying to avoid stepping on thumbnail-sized toads is a memory I shall treasure forever.  Especially since Katie is about to move across the country and we will likely have fewer opportunities to create such memories.  It was also an incredibly beautiful wedding and it was awesome to see Lindsay, since I haven’t seen her in several years.  Plus, now I can say that I’ve been to The Official Stock Car Capital of the World.  So, all in all, it was a great weekend.

Lake Norman State Park: home of approximately five million baby toads

Do yoga at least 25 times: 5 down, 20 to go.

Read at least two books that have nothing to do with school: 1 down, 1 to go. And I will likely be reading more than two since a group of my fellow students have started a summer book club.  By the way, I highly recommend The Fault in Our Stars, but should warn you that it is a serious tearjerker.

Retroactive addition to my list:

Travel to New York to see a show on Broadway: COMPLETE. Just before my road trip to North Carolina, my dad and I took a bus up to New York for the day to see Porgy & Bess. Great show, and a pretty good day: good food, an opportunity on the bus to be “forced” to watch a movie I secretly wanted to see but probably never would (in this case, “We Bought a Zoo”), and an inspiring visit to the International Center of Photography. Which reminds me that I can check something else off my list…

Visit National Gallery or another art museum: COMPLETE. The International Center of Photography is very cool.

In other news… when I got back from North Carolina I found that three of the four nasturtium seeds I planted had sprouted! And they seem to be pretty happy, despite the fact that Matilda thinks their leaves are pretty tasty.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

