Summer Fun List Progress Report #3

I should do these updates more often because this could get lengthy with all the catching up I have to do.  It’s been a fairly busy summer, although I’m kind of freaking out that it’s already the middle of July and there is a lot I still want to do before the fall semester starts.  But before I run off to address some other items on my list, I’ll share with you what’s been happening recently.

Go on a bakery adventure with my sister: COMPLETE. If you missed it, you can read all the details here.

Visit Baltimore Farmer’s Market at least once a month: Three months down, one to go. So… technically I haven’t returned to the Farmer’s Market in Baltimore since my May trip.  However I have stopped by the Wednesday Farmer’s Market on campus a couple times and picked up some beautiful raspberries and sour cherries (which went into making this pie), not to mention this past week when I returned home with eggplants, zucchini, tomatoes, peaches, basil… I think I’m missing something.  However, since the tomatoes are already gone, I think I might be motivated enough to get up early tomorrow and head downtown  to the Baltimore Farmer’s Market to restock.

Cook a Thai recipe: In progress. As in, I currently have curry paste, fish sauce, and some Thai chiles sitting on my counter for tonight’s dinner.  If it turns out well, you’ll probably hear about it.

See a movie in the theater: COMPLETE. Yes, I saw Magic Mike. 

Do yoga at least 25 times: …?  I haven’t really been keeping count, but I’d say I’ve been averaging 1 or 2 times a week. I did go to an actual yoga class for the first time in two years.  It felt really good and was a nice reminder that doing yoga at home by yourself is a completely different thing- I definitely don’t push myself as much when there is no one else around.  I should try to go to classes more often, even if I don’t have the time or funds to do it regularly.

Read at least two books that have nothing to do with school: COMPLETE. In fact, I’m reading my third non-school-related book right now.

Print and frame some wedding photos: In progress. On our anniversary this past Monday, Nick and I looked through the 500 or so photographs that our amazing photographer Stevie T compiled for us on a DVD.  I started an Excel sheet– this shouldn’t surprise you – noting which ones we’d want to print and frame.  Mostly though, it was a nice way to spend our first anniversary together- remembering where we were a year ago and seeing all the details I’ve already forgotten. And then, we went to dinner…

Eat dinner at Charleston: COMPLETE. Actually, I’d say this was more than a dinner- it was an experience. Every single detail was attended to perfectly: the dots of a lime and saffron sauce circling a mozzarella and tomato salad, the crisp wine that cleansed my palate so that every bite of a cornmeal-crusted soft shell crab was as stunning as the first bite, the silver tray with complimentary sweets (little truffles, macarons, etc.) that accompanied our actual dessert (also complimentary, and mandatory… I’m not kidding).  I really wish I had photographs of every dish to share with you.  But when your server is describing your food to you as it is presented, whipping out a camera phone to document the moment just seems wrong.  Quite possibly the best meal I have ever had, and certainly a wonderful evening with my favorite person.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food I Didn't Cook, Life

Leave a Reply

