Roasted Chicken and Cherry Tomatoes with Herbs

I think I should apologize.  I’ve been terribly selfish.  You see, I have now made this recipe twice and have yet to share it with you.  And it is a strong contender for my favorite new summer recipe.

Take some of my kitchen’s usual suspects- tomatoes, basil, shallots, and chicken.  Throw into the mix some strangers- Worcestershire sauce, herbes de Provence (which I can hear in my head with a French accent but please don’t ask me to say it out loud), and tarragon.  The end result? How can I explain this…?

Have you ever found yourself in a completely new situation with someone you know very well, and suddenly experience a different side of that person?  (Sometimes it’s a good thing, sometimes it’s not…) That’s what this recipe reminded me of.  It’s like if you mix Mom + martini, and the outcome is a Mom that is oddly familiar, yet oddly unfamiliar. (Not my mom, of course.)  Just when I thought I’d pushed the tomatoes and basil thing to the limit, they surprise me with a dimension I never knew they had.

Oh, also- even if you choose not to make this whole recipe (I don’t know why you wouldn’t, though), I highly urge you to try preparing chicken breasts this way.  Somehow it creates a crispy skin on boneless, skinless chicken breasts that are incredibly juicy and moist.  I officially declared that I am never going to cook chicken breasts a different way. Ever again.

This is almost exactly the recipe for Chicken with Herb-Roasted Tomatoes and Pan Sauce from the August 2012 issue of Bon Appetit, so I’m not going to repeat the recipe here.  But I will tell you about few modifications I made.  First, while you could probably get this on the table much faster by simultaneously cooking the tomatoes and chicken in separate overproof skillets, I really didn’t want to contend with two cast-iron skillets- either while cooking or while cleaning up.  So I cooked the tomatoes first and then let them hang out in a bowl while I cooked the chicken.

Second alteration… the original recipe calls for parsley, but I used basil instead.  We’re just more of basil people, I suppose. And finally, I might have swirled one or two tablespoons of butter into the pan sauce at the very end.  It would be delicious without butter, but I’m pretty sure the butter isn’t going to take away from the recipe. And since my tomatoes didn’t seem to yield quite as much juice as Bon Appetit’s picture would suggest, I felt like I needed something to make it a little saucier.

10 Comments

Filed under Cooking

10 responses to “Roasted Chicken and Cherry Tomatoes with Herbs

  1. Alan

    Odd, before today I’ve never been hungry for chicken at 7:25 am.

  2. Lisa

    This looks sooo yummy! I’m definately trying this as soon as I am off the annoying no greens diet (stupid stroke) because I imagine without all the herbs this is just plain chicken and tomatoes.

    • Hmm.. yeah, probably wouldn’t be quite the same. Sorry you’re being deprived at greens at the moment, but hope you are feeling better. And I also seriously owe you a phone call. I’d love to catch up soon!

  3. Can’t wait to try this! Great post!

  4. I saw this in the magazine too, and have been wanting to try it. Thanks for testing it for us! 🙂 You have made me SO hungry with those pictures!

  5. Great pics, looks just as good tho 🙂

  6. Pingback: Roasted Cherry Tomato Sauce with Ravioli | Anything But Academia

Leave a Reply

