Random Moments of Happiness: Day 2

It occurred to me that it might be a good idea to take advantage of the last day for early voting.  Just in case Tuesday gets busy and I’m forced to choose between voting and going to Pilates class.

What didn’t occur to me was that the rest of the district would have the same idea.  It took 90 minutes. Fifteen minutes more if you include one failed attempt to find a parking spot, a visit to Atwater’s while I contemplated whether to stick it out (hence the cupcake in the photo above), and another (successful) attempt to find a parking spot.

In the end, I’m glad I went back a second time to try to find parking. Sure, somebody near me in line had some gas problems and I got some funny looks for entertaining myself by reading a textbook. The moment I heard someone say, “I’m starving,” my stomach started growling. And for about ten minutes I wondered if it was all worth it while a woman ran off with my driver’s license to confirm that I could still vote even though my registration mysteriously came up as “inactive”.

But then I got to vote. And that felt pretty darn good.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Food I Didn't Cook, Life

4 responses to “Random Moments of Happiness: Day 2

  1. Way to hang in there Sarah! I voted last week, and yeah, it did feel good. But I failed to reward myself with a cupcake. Which I will make up for, ASAP 🙂
    Happy weekend!

  2. An Unidentified Relative

    Way to go! Kudos on voting and for making it all the way home before devouring the cupcake.

    • And they say parents these days give their children too much praise…. #1, it was only a ten-minute drive home, and #2, I’m very good at delayed gratification; definitely a two-marshmallow kid. It’s self-control and stopping gratification after two marshmallows that is the challenge. Hence, the beauty in purchasing a single cupcake from the bakery. 🙂

Leave a Reply

