Random Moments of Happiness: Day 5

Dear Husband,

Please don’t read this. Trust me. You don’t want to.

Are you still reading? Seriously- stop. If you love me – if you love us – you will stop. You know I respect your musical tastes, knowledge, and talents. And yes, we bonded over some of our similarities, like being the weird kids in third grade who listened to the oldies station. I’d like to think that’s one of the reasons you married me. But you also married me despite my affinity for certain reality shows.

You know where this is going. It’s just going to make you angry. So stop reading.

Love,

Me

To the rest of you,

Monday was kind of a crappy day. I mean, it was Monday, to begin with. And then I woke up with what was most likely the beginnings of a cold (and at this time I can tell you that yes, it was exactly that). I pushed myself through the day – lab meetings, classes, and prepping for lectures- and tried to push away worries about teaching on Tuesday while feeling sick.

So, Monday night, I turned to NBC and The Voice for comfort. Yes, I watch The Voice… in spite of my husband’s clear disapproval. I try not to talk about it, kind of the way that when you have a friend whose political views clash with your own, you might avoid talking about the election. At first, you tried to engage in a healthy debate, but eventually you realize no one’s going to sway the other, and that’s okay because it really has nothing to do with your friendship. So you drop it.

I understand why, as a musician, Nick hates The Voice. There are semi-analogous things I encounter with psychology and research that get me all riled up. But I still think some of the people on that show are awesome performers. There are certainly moments when I cringe (how many Justin Bieber and Taylor Swift songs were included during the last round??) but I love Melanie Martinez and Michaela Paige. And I forgive Terry McDermott for singing a Journey song because his rendition of Maybe I’m Amazed last week was that good. (Really, Nick, if you are still reading, just please block all this from your mind.)

But, as I’m sure a billion other people are saying, the highlight of the night was Amanda Brown singing Dream On. Seeing a woman with such a powerful voice – the kind that typically seems reserved for R&B and pop genres – rock out like that totally made my day.
Can’t wait to see what she does next!

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment and Pop Culture, Guilty Pleasures, Life

Leave a Reply

